Cozy Caterpillars

Preschool Storytime

Book: Ten Little Caterpillars by Bill Martin Jr.

11507059

 

 

 

 

 

Flannel Rhyme: Fuzzy Wuzzy Caterpillar

Fuzzy Wuzzy Caterpillar
Into a garden did creep
And spun himself a blanket
Then fell fast asleep
Fuzzy, wuzzy caterpillar
Woke up by and by
To find he had wings of beauty
For he had changed into a butterfly!

Book: The Crunching Munching Caterpillar by Sheridan Cain

418886

Book: The Very Hungry Caterpillar Pop-Up Book by Eric Carle

very hungry

Craft: Butterfly Life Cycle Wheel

Butterfly Wheel

Source: Kiz Club

Summary:  I decided to take the plunge this summer and raise Painted Lady butterflies.  A patron recommended I get them from Insect Lore.  I was nervous about the safety of the caterpillars since there did not seem to be a safe place to put them.  Our children’s room is set off to the side in an unmonitored space.  After some staff debate, we decided to set the butterfly habitat on a display case in front of our circulation desk.  The staff keeps an eye on little (and big) hands.  I do not have children, but feel some of the pangs of motherhood, as I constantly check on the butterfly larvae to make sure they are hitting their developmental stages on time.

Butterfly Habitat

The caterpillars made an appearance in preschool storytime.  This was a perfect time to introduce new vocabulary words and science concepts.  I printed the words “Egg/Caterpillar/Chrysalis/Butterfly” on our whiteboard and we discussed the butterfly metamorphosis process.

dispay

All the books worked well with this theme.  I knew many of the children were familiar with The Very Hungry Caterpillar so I decided to make it interactive by having the children place the food on the magnetic board when I came to its place in the story.   I like The Very Hungry Caterpillar, but I still feel conflicted reading it in storytime due to the use of the word “cocoon” instead of “chrysalis.”  I read Eric Carle’s explanation on his website, but I still have my doubts.  I also still really like the book.

Leave a Reply

