FIZZ BOOM WOW!

I am always looking for that wow factor to spice up my summer reading program school visits.  With this year’s theme, “FIZZ BOOM READ!,” science experiments were the obvious choice.  After months of agonizing, I found two experiments.  The first was Catch the Fizz from Soda Pop from the Highlights Kids’ website.

 

Photo of a science experiment for program at LibraryLena.

I knew some students had probably performed this experiment in science class, but I still felt it would catch the kids’ attention.  The students chanted for me to pop the balloon, I knew from experience that this left droplets of soda on the walls, floor and me!

The second experiment was The Leak-Proof Bag from Steve Spangler’s website.

Photo of science experiment for program at LibraryLena.

Many students thought this was a magic trick.  It did look pretty magical.  I took the advice of a contributor on PUBYAC  and had my volunteer hold up a cocktail umbrella to “protect” them in case the experiment went wrong.  I think we both were nervous about the bag leaking water, but it worked every time.

Leave a Reply

