I Like Me!

Toddler Storytime

Song: “If You Wanna Hear Some Stories” (Tune: “If You’re Happy and You Know It”)
If you wanna hear some stories, clap your hands
If you wanna hear some stories, clap your hands
If you wanna hear some stories, if wanna hear some stories
If you wanna hear some stories, clap your hands.
Additional verses:
If you wanna sing some songs, stomp your feet.
If you’re ready for some fun, shout hooray.

Book: Here Are My Hands by Bill Martin Jr.

image

Song: “This is the Way We Wash Our Hands” (Tune: “Here We Go Round the Mulberry Bush”)
This is the way we wash our hands, wash our hands, wash our hands,
This is the way we wash our hands so early in the morning.
Additional verses: Ears, nose, elbows, tummy, knees, and toes.

Song: “Head, Shoulders, Knees and Toes”
Head, shoulders, knees and toes, knees and toes
Head, shoulders, knees and toes, knees and toes
Eyes and ears and mouth and nose
Head, shoulders, knees and toes, knees and toes.

Book: I Can Fly by Ruth Krauss

42278

Action Rhyme: Fee, Fi, Fo, Fum

Fee, fi, fo fum (uncurl fingers 1 by 1)
See my fingers, see my thumb (wiggle fingers, then thumb)
Fee, fi, fo, fum (curl up fingers 1 by 1)
Bye-bye fingers, bye-bye thumb. (curl up thumb)

Credit: King County Library System

Book: We’ve All Got Bellybuttons! by David Martin

865373

Preschool Storytime

Book: Eggbert, the Slightly Cracked Egg by Tom Ross

Eggbert the Slightly Cracked Egg

Book/Flannel: Arthur’s Nose by Marc Brown

photo(2)

Arthur

I found the original of this flannel/prop in the storytime closet of my first job.  I copied the set, but I never found out the identity of the creator.  I hold up each picture and ask the kids if they think Arthur should choose this nose.  At the end, the kids vote on their favorite nose.

Song: Hokey Pokey from Songs for Wiggleworms

Book: Good Thing You’re Not an Octopus! by Julie Markes

264881

Craft:  Egg Man

Happy Face

Source: KIZCLUB

Summary: Born Librarian’s Body-Positive Self-Esteem Storytime inspired me to create my own I Like Me storytime.  This was a very interactive storytime.  Body parts are always a hit with toddlers.  The preschoolers really got into the Hokey Pokey the more I hammed it up.  My explanation of Arthur’s “nose job” from his original illustrations probably went on a little long since one kid called out “Read the story!”

Leave a Reply

