Robots Rule Recycled Art Contest

I love passive programs in the summer.  I often have success with recycled art contests based on the summer reading themes.

This year’s theme, “FIZZ BOOM READ,” offered a number of choices.  But I knew we had to have a ROBOTS RULE Recycled Art Contest.

Guidelines (Partial List):

  • Four age categories: Ages 4-5, 6-7, 8-9 and 10-12.
  • The robot may not be larger than 3 feet x 3 feet.
  • The robot must be able to stand on its own.
  • Judging is based on creativity, construction, and the use of recycled materials.

Over Mother’s Day weekend, I constructed a robot ( with the help of my mom).  It was really fun finding items around the house.

During my school visits, I pulled my robot out of a bag to show the kids an example.  I wanted them to see how simple and easy it was to create a robot.  It really caught their attention so I expect to have a lot of entries this year.  I will post photographs at the end of the summer.

Photo of recycled robot for program at LibraryLena.

3 thoughts on “Robots Rule Recycled Art Contest

  1. When I was a kid I made a robot for a science fair. I also had to get things from around the house. Back then we didnt have access to the technology of today of course , but it was one my memorable experiences of my childhood

Leave a Reply

